Because the Zombies Will Eat the Weak Ones First

OK, although I’m really not a zombie fan (at all) and I’ve never even seen The Walking Dead, I thought the title for this post was appropriate…when talking about MOTIVATION to exercise.

Benefits of Exercise are Endless (here are just a few)

  • Exercise releases endorphins which are your body’s natural pain medication, reducing your perception of pain…I heart burpees…I heart burpees… Endorphins also trigger a positive feeling in the body, similar to that of morphine.
  • So, it’s time to squash any excuses about not having the energy to exercise…because exercise will GIVE you energy.  It may seem counter-intuitive, but researchers say expending energy by engaging in regular exercise may pay off with increased energy in the long run.
  • Exercise also boosts serotonin for a couple of hours (up to a day) which helps to improve your mood. By releasing serotonin and other endorphins, exercise can be useful in treating depression. Stress?? What stress?
  • Exercise helps to keep sickness away. Since exercise elevates your level of immunoglobulins, which are proteins that help bolster your immune system, every sweat session you do can ward off infection.
  • Exercises turbo-charges your metabolism ( particularly those workouts that are high intensity and involve weight training). Metabolism is determined by a few things that are out of our control (gender, genes and age), but exercise is one thing that IS in our control.
  •  Exercise lowers blood pressure, increases bone density, improves sex-life, improves memory and focus, decreases chance for diabetes, slows the aging process and SO MUCH MORE!!!

What is your motivation to exercise? 

I have a long list of reasons I exercise – but one of the main reasons I do is to get stronger, faster and more efficient with my workouts as I prepare for upcoming CrossFit competitions.

Another reason is the endorphin rush I get immediately after a workout. With 4-year old twins, a good workout really gives me the energy and mindset I need to be a better mommy and tackle my work.

 

exercise_motivation

regret

 

Leave a Reply

