What Time of the Day Do You Workout?

Want to know the truth about what time of the day is best to workout?

The answer: It doesn’t really matter. It’s what time works best for YOU and your schedule. Choose a time that you’ll be consistent with and not procrastinate (and stop hitting the snooze button 10 times).

If you were looking for a scientific answer, it’s not really clear cut. Research shows benefits to working out at various times throughout the day. 

As a busy working mom, every evening after my toddler twins go to bed consists of endless laundry and cleaning from the day’s festivities, and prepping for the next… which means my mornings are usually a bit of a blur. I wake up at 5 a.m., sneak in to give Max and Joshy a kiss, and then it’s either into the car to commute to New York City or coaching classes at my CrossFit gym. I’ve found that if I fit in exercise first thing, it sets my whole day (week, month, year, life!) up for success, because it makes me feel happier (hello, endorphins!) and I’m much more productive. I also see it as a powerful symbol for my children that I’ve chosen to make my health a priority in my life. When I do that, my whole family and everyone else around me benefits (believe me, I feel sorry for my husband on the days I miss my workout).

So, I make a commitment to get it done morning, noon or night.

I shared some of my tricks with Redbook Magazine that I’ve devised to make the process a little easier. (Hint: It all starts the night before by setting an alarm to go to bed!) Check it out here!

Screenshot_2015-01-30-16-28-41

Leave a Reply

