A Better Version Of Ourselves

The 2014 CrossFit Games Open is officially over.

Throughout the past 5 weeks I have pushed myself harder than ever before, surprised myself, encompassed a whole slew of emotions from utter happiness and excitement to frustrations and disappointments, I’ve experienced some pretty crazy adrenaline rushes and have never had so much fun exercising in my life!

I’m beyond grateful for the support of my hubby Gino and everyone at our box. So thank you for being there to cheer me on and believing in me (and keeping me laughing…love the photo bomb during my video, hon). Although I didn’t make the top 48 this year, I placed 72 in the North East Region (out of over 8000 women, that’s not too shabby, I guess). And considering all the many hats I wear (mommy of very energetic toddler twins, wife, working a full time job commuting to the city twice a week, business owner, etc) I’m pretty content. Plus, hey, the sun is shining today, spring is finally here!

photobomb

The CrossFit Games Open makes us stronger by exposing our weaknesses. That’s a good thing. Those who experienced the five workouts know exactly which ones did that for them. We are all stronger mentally and stronger physically because of it. And we now know what we need to work on to make us all a better version of ourselves. Unfortunately, many don’t understand their potential until we put ourselves to the test like this. So I encourage those who were on the fence about competing in the Open this year start training for 2015. It’ll be here before we know it. And in the mean time, enter some local competitions- scaled or RX, it doesn’t matter. As soon as you sign up, the whole game changes for the better.

Happy CrossFitting!

 

Leave a Reply

