Leaderboard Obsession

The CrossFit Games Open is under way.

“Everyone in the world is invited to compete in five  workouts over five weeks, posting their scores to the leaderboard online in real time.  Competitors will be ranked both worldwide and by region. The fittest 48 men, 48 women, and 30 teams from each region will earn invitations to one of 17 Regionals. This is the first chance athletes will have in 2014 to establish their international standings.”

2013 was my first year competing in the CrossFit Games Open. I signed up with the intention to give it my all and establish a baseline. So I was excited to finish the five weeks of workouts in 268th place out of over 3000 athletes in the North East Region.

This year seems to be a little bit of a different story. When I signed up for the 2014 CrossFit Games Open, I had (what I thought was) a lofty goal of heading to Regionals some day. But as we’re wrapping up week 3, I’m in 31st place (for now…we still have 2 workouts to do) out of over 7000 female athletes in the North East Region. (MUST. HOLD. ON!) These past few weeks have been so intense and exciting to experience although, for some reason, I’ve been hesitant to post anything about my experience so far. I don’t know if it’s that little doubtful voice in my head or if I just don’t want to jinx it knowing everything can change in these next two weeks.  Either way, I figured this was just too exciting not to share. So, I’ll be posting more…
…because, what I’ve been trying SO HARD to allow myself to learn these past 3 weeks is to STOP DOUBTING. Shut that voice up  & give it everything!

Here are a couple of mantras I’ve been repeating to myself:

Of course I always start with my favorite verse, and tattoo, “I can do ALL things through Christ who gives me strength.” Phil. 4:13 (nevermind the ice pack burn on my back…yes, this can happen)

BieAGMyIIAAxfdD

“Relax in the dubs and breath!” (14.1)
“Make every rep count.” (aka, don’t get NO REP’d). (14.2)
“Commit to the bar. Don’t let go. Breath on the box.” (14.3)

I feel that the Open brings out the best in all of us (even those who are doing the WODs, but aren’t signed up). What has been so cool to watch these past three weeks, is the other athletes at our box. Their intensity come out of hiding. Their support for all the other athletes. Their excitement when they hit PRs. And most importantly, watching them do things they didn’t think they could do before. THIS is one of the many reasons I love what I do so much as a coach.

So, now that 14.3 is closed, I can stop obsessing over the leaderboard, until Saturday that is.

Leave a Reply

