Crazy Train?

Obsessed vs. Dedicated

Thankfully I’ve never been told that I’m obsessed (phew), but I’ve often been told, “you’re crazy” (as I’m sure many CrossFitters have). And while that statement comes with a smile, it gets me thinking…do they really think I’m crazy (obsessed)?

What’s the difference? And how do you know if you’re on the Crazy Train?
First, read how Dictionary.com defines these two words:
Dedicated: to devote wholly and earnestly, as to some person or purpose.
Obsession: the domination of one’s thoughts or feelings by a persistent idea, image, desire, etc.

There’s definitely a difference between being dedicated to a goal and being obsessed. I believe that dedicated means you choose to invest your time and your energy to reaching that goal. While obsession starts to take over your life in a negative way (affecting your work, your family, your friends, your sleep in a bad way).

Exercise comes with tons of scientifically proven physical and emotional benefits (which we’ve all heard before), but my favorite is the way I feel when I’m in engulfed in the WOD, after I peel myself off the floor at the end (hello endorphin boost!), and especially the community aspect of the box. NOTHING compares to this. The friends that I’ve made at the box and the friendships that I see developing are pretty amazing. You’ll never find this in a “globo gym”. This is not a “cult”. It’s a community.

On the flip side, exercise could cause harm to your body (and your mind) if you do too much. Just like anything – it could turn into an unhealthy obsession if you’re not careful.

Personally, CrossFit doesn’t get in the way of other parts of my life because it is who I am. It’s who we are as a family. And, uh, it’s my job, too!

I’m not obsessed. I’m dedicated. (It’s true though, I do stalk the whiteboard…but who doesn’t?!)

VID_20140129_122215_171_8734[1]

Driving the Crazy Train?

When you Google “Obsessed + CrossFit” this quote comes up (among many others):
“Obsessed is just a word the lazy use to describe the dedicated.”
Tell me your thoughts on dedication?

obsessed

Do you agree or disagree with this quote?

Leave a Reply

